Update to My Neti Pot Post

Okay, probably my most read words to date are from this article I wrote several years ago and repost on occasion – The Neti Ambassador.

I’ll still do my daily nose ablutions, BUT I’ll be boiling the water every time. (I tend to do this anyway to steam off some of the chlorine.)

It seems that two deaths in Louisiana are linked to a rare amoeba infection delivered by neti pot-ing with contaminated tap water. Yikes. Double yikes. All the yikes, actually.

I still don’t understand how the brain is exposed to the amoeba. Personally, mine’s all covered up with my palate, sinuses, and meninges. Safe, not sorry, I suppose will have me boiling up the water first from now on…

2 thoughts on “Update to My Neti Pot Post

  1. Pingback: The Neti Ambassador « Because I Love To Hear Myself Type

  2. Holy crap, that is some scary stuff. I’m glad we use distilled water and still heat it in the kettle before using.

Leave a Reply

